Radcliffe: OK with nudity in Equus

24 02 2007

Please be careful as this post does contains strong sexual content that may not be suitable for all readers.

Radcliffe Defends Naked Stage Role

Harry Potter star Daniel Radcliffe has defended his decision to appear nude on the London stage, insisting his role in a revival of Peter Shaffer’s 1973 play Equus would be equus_450×476.jpg“rubbish” if he didn’t bare all.
The 17-year-old actor admits he hit the gym to tone up for the revealing role, but he insists he has no problem appearing nude on stage if it helps his performance.
He says, “I’m fine about it. Equus is an iconic play. The nude scene is part of it. I can’t do it with my pants on. That would be rubbish. We’ve done the scene a couple of times in rehearsal. I had no particular qualms. There’s nothing that would stop me getting my kit off if that’s what the work demands.
“The key to serious acting is to lose your inhibitions, to become free and fearless. I feel OK about my body. Not totally, of course, but no one my age does … but I’ve gone to the gym to make sure. And many of the actors I admire, like Gary Oldman, have gone naked.”

harry_070223_400.jpgequus_col5_hires.jpgdaniel-radcliffe.jpgdd_dshradcliffe130200×283.jpg

Other related news stories
Harry Potter bares it all
Jennifer Aniston sues blogger over topless photos

Actions

Information

5 responses

24 02 2007
Joe

LOL That full frontal picture is such an obvious photoshop job. Why are so many people falling for it?

25 02 2007
lindsey

ewww… harry potter naked that is just gross.

9 03 2007
Becca

whoa! i’ll never look at harry potter the same! i’m so traumatized!

22 03 2007
Jessie

oh my god this is disgusting!

17 03 2009
Kourtney

Well — we know he’s not circumsized.

Leave a Reply

