Sunshine sweeps Spirit Awards

25 02 2007

The Spirit Award celebrate 22-years of honoring fresh, innovative and daring films that are made outside of the confines of commercial Hollywood. The awards are for film that offer something more than the usual to audiences and challenge actors to go against the grain.

Building even more momentum heading into the final stretch, Little Miss Sunshine garnered the top prize at Independent Spirit Awards. Besides its Best Picture victory the film also won Best Director (Jonathan Dayton & Valerie Faris), Best First Screenplay and Best Supporting Actor (Alan Arkin). The low-budget comedy will now enter the Academy Awards tonight with a shelve full of more stautettes.
Ryan Gosling won Best Actor for his role in Half Nelson which also landed the young thespian his first Academy Award nomination. His portrayal of a innovative innercity school teacher who just can’t shake his drug addiction was one of this year’s highlights.
His co-star Shareeka Epps also snatched the Best Actress honor for his work in the film. Best Supporting Actress went to Frances McDormand for her performance in Friends With Money, proving that even money can’t bring you happiness and fulfillment.
Jason Reitman won for his light and entertaining screenplay for Thank You for Smoking.




One response

25 02 2007

go little miss sunshine. i loved this movie and it deserves to win but i honestly don’t think it will.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: